A blast from the past

Standard

I’m still turning over new leaves at a rate of one per day. I’m still waiting for computer code to finish running, which means not much progress on the paper. I printed my poster though.

I did find several hours for something kind of fun today though, which was converting my 35 mm slides from Malawi 1998 into digital images. I’ve been wanting this for ages; not having a slide projector meant I couldn’t really look at the slides, and at one stage I was considering paying to have it done, but the university has facilities for doing it yourself and is open in the evening. I will now spend the remainder of my evening posting a few interesting ones on the blog!

I shared this little house in Blantyre, the second largest city in Malawi, with 2 other volunteers. It was on the compound of the boarding school I was teaching at. The hot water was solar-powered and excellent. The electricity was temperamental (several electrical items burnt out) but generally on. It was great, actually… I had no idea what to expect and was glad it wasn’t a mud hut. 🙂


The school was off this main road out of Blantyre and I used to go and catch minibuses into town from there. It doesn’t look like it’s anywhere near a city, does it?

I don’t really know why I’m posting these except I guess everyone likes to see photos, and I like to reminisce… I must be getting old! There is so much I could say about my time there, in many ways I was braver and more confident than at any other time in my life. I went through every emotion under the sun, in extreme measures. The experience changed my perspective on life for a long time and I look back on it as having made me a better person, at least for a few years. But I won’t recount it all now… I’ll just let the photos tell their story. Next up: scenes from around the beautiful land of Malawi.

One response »

  1. Wow, I enjoyed seeing these. Thanks for pointing them out. This was written before I started following your blogs. It's neat seeing where you lived and the road you took. I'm sure you DID feel so strong living there. It's not easy leaving home and living somewhere so different for 7 months. If you ever feel up to sharing more about that time, please do.

Leave a Reply

